Posted by: Emily | 20 January 2013

Truth: a meditation

Riffing on a line from the traditional morning services, very loosely translated in the first and last stanza, I wrote down this short meditation a few days ago.

אמת את היא ראשונה ואת היא אחרונה ומבלעדיך אין לנו מלכה גואלת ומושיעה.

Truth: you are first, and you are last,
And without you, we have nothing to lead us,
Nothing to redeem us, nothing to save us.

Power comes from a deep place I am only starting to discover.
Change begins when I say to myself: I am a truthful person today.
Then I can say: I am a powerful person today.

In the mornings I get to look at my reflection in the mirror,
Every day seeing a person more truthful,
And I get to say: What kind of Emily do I want to be today?

Will I be powerful? Will I bring truth? Will I bring change?
Will I fight for what is just?
Will I lead? Will I redeem? Will I save?

Will I do the work of holiness?
Will I be vulnerable? Will I be wounded? Will I fail?
Will I be genuine? Will I discover my truth?

Truth: you are first, and you are last,
And without you, we have nothing to lead us,
Nothing to redeem us, nothing to save us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

